Playing with Plantains

I have a confession to make. I do not like bananas. It is not the taste nor texture, but the smell. Any recipes that call for banana I omit, as well as any food made with banana I avoid at all costs (no banana bread or chunky monkey smoothies for me!). I get frustrated with myself because bananas are an excellent source of vitamins, nutrients and quick energy. i just can’t get myself to eat them. Then came the plantain.

The plantain is a cousin to the banana, similar in texture and shape but has little to no taste or smell of banana. After a bit of research and watching my roommate happily fry her plantains in the morning, I decided to bite the bullet and try one out.

The recipe I chose was from a site called Stupid Easy Paleo

It called for:
1 Ripe Plantainimg_2203
1 Tbsp of Coconut Oil1/4 Tsp of Cinnamon
Sea Salt to taste

Instructions:
Peel and cut the plantain. Heat oil in a pan at medium heat, add the plantain. Fry Until golden brown on both sides, serve with sprinkled cinnamon and a dash of sea salt. Add natural sweetener if desired.

What I did:
Since I love cinnamon, I chose to add it to the pan with the oil and plantain. Once the plantain had reached a golden brown state I took it out of the pan, added more cinnamon and drizzled some maple syrup on it.

The Verdict:
My first thoughts after a few bites were that this is one weird food. It did not taste or smell like banana, yet it had the texture of one. You could definitely tell they are related. While I was chewing I decided that the plantain reminded me of a banana/potato hybrid. It was very interesting and I can really see why people would like to eat them. The texture was pleasing and it was a very hearty snack that filled me up after only a handful of pieces.

img_2205

What I would do next time:
After much contemplation I have decided that next time I would add more cinnamon and cook it longer. I think cooking it longer would give the dish a bit more of a crisp/crunch factor, one that would compliment the internal texture of the plantain which was baked potato like. Overall it was a fun, and “stupid easy” recipe to make. As a plus, I feel one step closer to potentially liking bananas.

 

Leave a Reply

