PSP (Pumpkin Spiced Pancake)

With Thanksgiving over and done with and assignments coming out of my ears I wanted to make something that would remind me of the bliss a weekend that ended too soon. After some deep searching I stumbled upon a recipe for Paleo Pumpkin Pancakes that I thought would be the perfect fall dish to bring me back to all the pie I devoured this weekend. I found that there are many variations of pumpkin pancakes out there, but the one I chose from Balancedbites.com seemed the most straight forward and easiest to follow, not to mention I had the majority of the ingredients in my kitchen already (I only needed to go and grab a can of pumpkin).

 

img_2223What you need:
4 eggs
1/2 cup pumpkin puree1-2 Tbsp of coconut flour
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1-2 Tbsp of maple syrup
1-2 Tbsp butter or coconut oil
1/4 tsp of baking soda
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
pinch of salt

What you do:
Beat together eggs, pumpkin, vanilla extract and maple syrup. Sift in dry ingredients and mix until combined. Heat pan and add butter or oil, pour some of the mixture into the pan and let sit until edges dry out and top of pancake has a dry texture. Flip and let cook until golden brown. Serve with a drizzle of maple syrup and a sprinkle of cinnamon. (Makes about 6 medium sized pancakes)

What I did:
I blended the wet ingredients together, but then realized I did not have pumpkin pie spice or baking soda. Instead of quitting I left out the baking soda and made a spice concoction with allspice and cinnamon. After mixing everything together I tasted the batter and could not believe my mouth.. it tasted like pumpkin pie filling! I heated my pan to medium heat and added a little less coconut oil than the recipe asked for. I put two generous dollops into my pan and waited until they looimg_2232ked dry on the top and sides before I flipped them. Once the pancakes were cooked I served them with cinnamon, maple syrup and some cut up apples.

The Verdict:
Once again I could not believe my mouth and the fact that I have never made these before. If you love pumpkin you’ll love these, not only were they filling and delicious, but also incredibly easy to make. You could easily make up the batter a head of time and spoon some into a pan in the morning for breakfast. If you like pancakes and do not mind the taste of pumpkin and spices these are an excellent alternative because they are mostly made up of eggs, pumpkin, some spice and syrup (the coconut flour was optional, but recommended to ensure the batter had a pancake consistency).

What I Would Do Next Time:
As an avid pancake eater, I could definitely see why the baking soda is important to the recipe for both texture and flavour. When I make these again, (there is no if here, they tasted amazing and I have the rest of the pumpkin to use up) I will be sure to include the baking soda, as well as checking my spice cupboard beforehand and buying the correct spices so I do not have to improvise. Overall it was a great recipe, and my roommates cannot wait until I mix up another batch!

img_2234
Enjoying the pancakes

 

 

Leave a Reply

