Have Your Brownie Pudding Cake, And Eat It Too

This past weekend I finally got the chance to go home and see my parents and my mother surprised me with the suggestion to make a Brownie Pudding Cake for dessert. This recipe comes from the good old Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book. This cookbook is the one cookbook that both my grandmothers and my mom recommend for every kitchen. It has everything a person could want to cook- from basic sauces to complex dinners and desserts. Not only does this cookbook symbolize a homemade meal, but the Brownie Pudding Cake takes me back to myimg_2371 childhood, where I got to help my mom in the kitchen.

What is so fascinating about this recipe in particular, is that it becomes a science experiment in the kitchen. You start by combining the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients, spreading it into a baking pan and then pouring the sauce on top. After baking the Brownie Pudding cake and letting it cool, you will see that the liquid mixture has moved itself to the bottom of the dessert and turned into pudding!!! The top layer is a dense chocolate concoction that somewhat resembles both a brownie and a cake. Either way, this recipe is very easy, delicious and a fun activity to do with kids!

What you need:
1/2 cup all-purpose flourimg_2373
1/4 cup  sugar
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
3/4 teaspoon of baking powder
1 tablespoon cooking oil
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
1/3 cup sugar
3/4 cup boiling water

What you do:
Stir together flour, 1/4 cup of sugar, 1 tablespoon of the unsweetened cocoa powder and the baking powder. Add milk, oil and vanilla, stirring until smooth. Add the nuts and spread mixture into a 1 quart casserole pan. Combine 1/3 cup of sugar and remaining cocoa powder with the boiling water. Mix until smooth. Pour evenly over batter and put in oven at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes. When done, check by sticking a toothpick into the cake. If the toothpick comes out clean, the cake is done!
Serve warm on its own or with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!

Wimg_2385hat I did:
Since I have made this recipe several times before, I already knew what alterations I wanted to make. My first alteration was adding an extra half tablespoon of the unsweetened cocoa powder and my second alteration was adding chopped toasted hazelnuts instead of the chopped walnuts.

 

The Verdict:
Extra chocolate+toasted hazelnuts= heaven. There is nothing more to say.

This dessert was a great way to end my weekend, it not only brought me back to my childhood days, but also allowed me to spend some precious time with my mom, doing something we love most- cooking and eating!

 

Leave a Reply

